For the love of… grrrr

I just got back from the doctor’s office (just your average family clinic near the hospital) and guess what I saw while I was there!  On one side of the road was a van covered in blown up pictures of aborted babies.  On the other side were the folks that parked it there, carrying signs depicting how God punishes gays with AIDS.

And guess who was walking down the street between them!  Elementary-level children as the school was letting out a block away.  Isn’t that nice?

While in the waiting room, I warned a woman who was leaving to be careful that her kids don’t see the van.  She said, “Oh, them again?  My little girls saw that last time and I thought they’d never stop crying!”

People have a right to their opinions (and to express it), but why subject children to such graphic images?

Well, I know it didn’t do much good, but I expressed my opinion to them as I left, along with my own offensive sign (middle finger).  To the guy holding the sign with the Romans verse, “The wages of sin is death” with “AIDS” running down the middle, I said, “Judge not, lest ye be judged… Hypocrite!”  And to the guy with the sign reading, “Gay rights: AIDS HELL,” I said, “Straight people get AIDS, too, dumbass!”

They just yelled back, “Queer!” because I guess a straight guy can’t stick up for gays.  Pathetic.  Like I said, I know it didn’t do any good, but I feel better from doing it.

10 Responses to “For the love of… grrrr”

  1. As a gay man, thank you for that Jerrod.

  2. […] Great Blog Entry Jump to Comments NO, not this one, but this one https://jerrodbalzer.wordpress.com/2008/12/01/for-the-love-of-grrrr/#comment-15. I urge you all to go check it […]

  3. If you really want to mess with them, have them read from their own book:

    For there are eunuchs who were born that way from their mother’s womb; and there are eunuchs who were made eunuchs by men; and there are also eunuchs who made themselves eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. He who is able to accept this, let him accept it.” (Matthew 19: 8-12)

    Even Jesus knows that homosexuals were born that way. Anyway, the gay-hating came from St Paul who had no affiliation with Jesus.

  4. The utter stupidity of wingnuts astounds me, sometimes. What further irks me is that in their narrowmindedness, you’re not being the tolerant one. Time to step away from the computer to let my blood pressure come down a little.

  5. That’s a good one, Mike, and one of my other favorites is this from 1 Corinthians 5:12

    “What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. ‘Expel the wicked man from among you.'”

    So if you feel that someone is not following your beliefs, leave them alone and concern yourself with the hypocrites and sinners in your own church.

    Oh, there are plenty of verses, like Jesus’ own words about pointing out splinters in others’ eyes while there is a plank in your own; let he who is without sin cast the first stone, etc but most importantly, love thy neighbor was most important to him.

    But anyway, I see more unconditional love in a gay person’s heart than I saw in these people’s cold eyes, so I know who is REALLY filled with the light of good (regardless of religion).

    My opinion of course.

  6. Yeah. I agree totally, Jerrod.

    I’m reminded of a gay character Jon Lovitz played on SNL many, many years ago. Thick New York accent: “I just want to be LOVED, is that so WRONG?!?”

    Honestly, what is so wrong with that?

  7. Jon Lovitz rules!

  8. I was raised in a fundy church and was subject to this kind of hateful teaching. My family converted to more accepting branch of Christianity but by that time I was already an atheist. It’s nice to have the knowledge when this kind of thing comes up. These folks don’t think for themselves and are told what to think by their pastors with whom they never doubt. It’s a rather sad spectacle. Here’s a decent website on Christianity and homosexuality.

    http://homosexualeunuchsandthebible.com/index.html

  9. That is a great site, Mike! Thank you for sharing. It made a lot of sense and I love info like that.

  10. We’ve recently taught my precocious 4 year old daughter what a “douchebag” is. I think, though, that if she saw that I would have lied to her and told her that the pictures were fake.

Leave a Reply

