R.I.P. Uncle Forry

Thank you for all you’ve given us.  I could say more, but everyone HERE says it so much better.

In addition, I received this touching tribute from my friend, Michael McCarty.  With his permission, I’m posting it here:

Michael McCarty’s Tribute to Forrest J. Ackerman

Forrest J. Ackerman was a walking encyclopedia of science fiction and horror. As the well-known editor of “Famous Monsters Of Filmland” for twenty years (and over 200 issues), he had personally known such legends as Boris Karloff, Bela Lugosi, Lon Chaney Jr., Peter Lorre, Christopher Lee and Vincent Price.

After twenty years and 191 Mr. Ackerman resigned as editor of “Famous Monsters” –his two-decade tenure had influenced generations of horror fans, including Academy Award-winning director Steven Spielberg and author Stephen King – who sent his first story to the magazine. There was also George Lucas, Rick Baker the monster-maker, John Landis, Joe Dante – all were readers who grew up and made an impression on the world.

If it wasn’t for Forry Ackerman and “Famous Monsters Of Filmland,” I doubt I would have ended up a speculative fiction writer in the first place.

I started collecting “Famous Monsters” in 1973. My mom actually bought my first copy of the magazine, issue #107 with West World’s cowboy robot Yul Brynner on the cover. I read the magazine from cover to cover, fascinated with the black-and-white stills of monster movies and the pun-filled humor, courtesy of Mr. Ackerman.

The first time I met Forry was at a science fiction convention in Iowa City. Shortly after that, I did an interview with him for my first book called Giants Of The Genre (2003, Wildside Press).

The second time I met Forry was in 2003, at the World Horror Convention. I sat next to him at a signing and we talked and shared plenty of laughs.

Over the years, we exchanged, mail, email, Christmas cards and of course, more interviews. I interviewed him for Modern Mythmakers (McFarland & Company, 2008) and dedicated the book to him and again in Esoteria-Land (BearManor Media, 2009,) again dedicating the book to him.

He was truly a giant and gentleman of the genre and will be sorely missed.

Leave a Reply

