Dollhouse

***Mild spoilers for those who haven’t seen episode 2.

As far as I’m concerned, it’s official.  Dollhouse rocks!  The first episode was great, but not mind-blowing.  I thought it was a fine introduction to the series – a nice setup for what’s to come.  And the second episode didn’t disappoint at all.  Robin was at the edge of her seat during the last fifteen minutes and there was even a point where I straightened up and yelled, “Yeah!  Kick his ass!”  Well, I may have done that more than once.

Being on Fox, the fact that it’s so good probably means it will be gone within the month, but we’ll be enjoying it each week while it’s around.  And I hope Fox surprises us by keeping it.

As with much of Joss Whedon’s work, it also hits us on a personal level – well, mostly me.  I don’t mean to sound like a broken record, but it’s just so true.  See, when Robin has episodes, she doesn’t remember them afterward.  Take last night, for example.  I couldn’t convince Robin that there weren’t people staring at her from the corner with needle-sharp teeth.  Not until I said what I often say to her, “Don’t you trust me?”  She’ll then look at me and say, “Yes.”  And, no kidding, sometimes she answers with “With my life.”  So yeah, Joss gives me goosebumps sometimes.

Then later, when she’s feeling better, she’ll look at the clock, wonder where the time went to, and ask if she fell asleep.  I give her the same look that Boyd gave Echo in the similar situation.  I felt for the character.  He remembers everything that she went through, did his best to protect her during, but doesn’t have the luxury of having it wiped from memory.

Kudos, Joss.  You’ve done another excellent job.  You’ve also managed to really freak me out with some of the dialog (the bit about trust and falling asleep), but that’s cool 😉  I just love it that much more.

Also, kudos to the cast.  Eliza and everyone else are great on this show.  We’re both looking forward to more.

One Response to “Dollhouse”

  1. Rock it do, it do, as do Robin and you!

Leave a Reply

